Sunday, May 26, 2024
Home > City News > CM confers journalism awards

CM confers journalism awards

city kemp

city kemp DSC05128 city kempKarnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah on Friday conferred TSR Memorial Journalism Awards; Mohare Hanamantharaya, Environment Journalism, and Development Journalism awards for 2012 and 2013 at Vartha Soudha, Department of Information and Public Relations in the city.
Receipents of TSR Memorial awards were N Arjuna Deva and Eshwar Daithota for the years 2012 and 2013 respectively. Mohare Hanamantha Rao Journalism Awards were conferred on Raghavendra Aravind Rao Joshi (2012) and K B Ganapathy (2013).
Development Journalism Award for 2012 was conferred on Amshi Prasanna Kumar and Dr Sadananda Perla for 2013. Environment Journalism Awards were given to Dr Narendra Rai Derla (2012) and Deepak Sagar (2013)
Speaking after conferring the awards, the Chief Minister said that journalism which is the fourth pillar of democracy should function with professionalism and work meticulously to ensure that it does not lose the trust it enjoys among the masses.
The chief minister noted that even electronic media many a time simply air silly news like fight between couples throughout the day. Instead, they can serve the society better with more informative news, he said.
Speaking on behalf of awardees, veteran journalist N Arjuna Deva, said that initially there was an apprehension that electronic media may cast a shadow on print media. But that did not happen as the print media successfully changed its strategies and thus survived, he added. President of the awards selection committee Justice Arali Nagaraj, Information Minister Roshan Baig, Karnataka Media Academy President M A Ponnappa, and others were present. Information Director N R Vishu Kumar proposed a vote of thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *